Two much of a good thing

I have two brand new laptop’s and I’m still using Trit’s Macbook

We’ll step back for a second and let me make some intro’s. So there’s me – your friendly neighbourhood blogger. Then there’s Trit – she’s the Robin to my Batman, but she’ll never admit it. Vegas is like the Battle-Cat of the clan and the real cat is just kinda there. Recently we’ve decided to take some steps forward to start working at our dream jobs and thus my blog is born.

Lately we’ve gone from being a two person, two bathroom, two computer family (ahhh, the simple luxuries) to a one computer family. Our recently deceased desktop has been plagued with viruses and damaged parts, dusty innards and well if it was a pet, it would be the appropriate age to put it down. Since then we’ve been working off of Trit’s McBook (I like the Scottish version better) and it’s been hard doing everything on one laptop.

This brings us to the present, where we’ve made the steps toward acquiring two more computers and no, we’re not trying to have machine’s outnumber people in this household. We found a great machine, Blu-ray burner with an AMD Phenom II quad-core processor but by the time we went to check it out at Best Buy store, they were all sold out. Now this was boxing day, and we didn’t want to hang a crowded big-bog store ready to throw down, so we decided to go online to buy this AMD Phenom II triple-core processor with no Blu-ray off the website. I was a little upset we couldn’t get the first one, but at least I was able to get something comparable.

I was so excited to get this laptop because it now means that I can have a new toy in the house and it’s one that I can call my own. So I wait, and sure enough three days later there’s a tag in the mailbox and my laptop is waiting at the post office – I get Vegas and take him out for his walk, at this point he didn’t care about the laptop he just needed to pee. This is where everything get’s better. I walk out to the sidewalk and there is Trit with a laptop box under her arm – she’d been tracking the package and went to pick it up at the post office already, I told you she was like my Robin!

So I take Vegas out and we play, I’m super pumped, the entire time I’m playing with Vegas I was actually thinking about setting up my laptop and sharing all my experiences with you folks and it was going to be awesome!! Now before I opened the box, we needed to settle that nagging feeling and make sure that the other system was still sold out. I wanted to be sure we were happy with keeping this inferior machine. I mean, no offence triple core, but there’s a reason they call you odd…..

I log onto to Best Buy and sure enough the quad-core is back in stock and ready to jump into my lap. It’s just sitting there, with is Blu-ray goodness and shiny 4 core’s. I start reading reviews and it’s unanimous, the quad-core is a much better machine and some reviews go as far as to assume that the triple-core’s are just quad-core rejects that were refurbished, but they just couldn’t save that one core. Now after reading that review I reopened the Best Buy window and had the quad-core checked out so fast, I had to go back to make sure I ordered what I intended to.

So now I’m stuck with two computers. One I can’t open and have to wait until the 7th to return to the store, and the other will take between 3-5 business days to get here. So here I am, with a brand new machine sitting 3 feet away from me, and I’m still using the McBook – not that there’s anything wrong with that šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

