Nerd Alert

So I’ve finally been able to get a snapshot of my favourite moment of this year’s Superbowl. It wasn’t during  the tremendous first half by Green Bay or while the Steelers waged their comeback battle. The moment for me was when we were finally introduced to the first trailer for Captain America. And on top of that we were given the very first image of the Red Skull. They took a classic Captain America villain and brought him to life and I’ve got to admit they got it bang on.

Now I know that most people have some hesitations about this film, and that’s valid. With failed attempts like Wolverine: Origins, Fantastic Four 2 and Spider-Man 3, Marvel needs this movie to succeed in order to have the upcoming Avengers project to get off to a good start.

Now this glimpse of the Red Skull was only on the screen for no more than one second but it was clear as day and the first time I’ve seen Hugo Weaving in the Red Skull makeup. I was never big into Captain America but it doesn’t mean I love the genre any less and to have Marvel evolve one of  their pillar’s onto the big screen is exciting. As a DC fan it’s kind of like the first time you saw Superman take to the skies.

But now I’m just ranting – the point of my rant is that this is going to be an exciting year  for comic book adaptations. Thor, Green Lantern, X-Men: First Class, Cowboys & Aliens and Captain America. I can’t remember when we’ve had such a promising crop of potential blockbuster comic book films!

Except for X-Men, I’m not excited about that one in the least 😀

Leave a Reply

