Man vs Food, the Road Tour

Have you ever watched Man vs. Food? I know I’ve discussed with this in many contexts with some people but no matter how ridiculous or sickening the show can be at times, I can’t stop watching it. It really lets me live out some sick and twisted fantasy about just stuffing my face full of every food imaginable. I know, I know, I’m secretly a fat kid just waiting to happen.

Aside from the crazy and gut busting challenges, the show also highlights some really great restaurants with some top quality food that is anything but healthy and a whole lot of tasty! I just love to eat and when I realized that I was going to be travelling by some of the best eateries in the eastern US, I had to plan my trip to visit some of these stellar eateries.

I don’t know what it is about road trips. Maybe it’s the idea that you can just pass through a city, leave nothing but a cold trail of smoke and take a part of the city with you in your belly. Maybe it’s the local ingredients and spices that make it so tempting to the taste-buds. For me, it’s definitely the claim to fame, there are so many places that claim to have the best breakfast or the best burgers, the hottest wings and the best chicken and waffles (Gladys & Ron I’m coming back for the Midnight Train). I want to experience the best of the best and decide for myself who actually does it best.

So I’ll be sampling breakfast at Deluca’s and lunch at Primanti Brothers in Pittsburgh PA. Then it’ll be a day long drive to Atlanta where the VORTEX will give us the city’s best burger, I’m looking forward to the blue cheese burger. And then I return to Gladys Knight & Ron Wynans’ Chicken and Waffles, where this time I’ll be tackling the Midnight Train (I did the BBQ Turkey wings last time) for a taste of some good ol’ soul food!

Man I’m hungry – I’ve really got to stop writing about food. I think I’m going to go and have some Beef Stroganoff now.

Goodnight everybody!

Leave a Reply

