The Royal Hoopla

I normally don’t watch the news. It usually makes me mad and by the end I wonder why the hell I decided to watch. People killing each other, political debacle’s and scandal after scandal. I guess when you look at the bottom line, the news is supposed to bring us what is important in the world around us and give us an unbiased view of what should matter to us no matter if it’s good or bad.

So why the upcoming royal wedding is such big news just baffles me. I understand that we’re part of a group of countries that shares ties to the UK and but it’s almost been 30 years since the Canada Act. So why we still concern ourselves with this nonsense is beyond me. What really get’s me though is that we still have a figurehead of a monarchy that, in my opinion, has no place in this modern world.

The little prince was born into privilege and has been given everything he needed. What gave this family the right to place themselves above everyone else. What gave this family the right to be more important than everyone else? And now the prince is getting married and the media is going into a frenzy to get everyone riled up for the pomp and ceremony that will be a colossal waste of money. Is it even the monarchy’s money or funded by the British taxpayers?

I guess I just don’t see the point in getting excited over such an extravagant waste of money. Maybe it’s because I don’t see the point in spending so much money on a huge event when there are so many better uses for the money they’re going to spend. Use it to help rebuild the disaster that has left Japan in shambles. Or what about our ever worrisome energy crisis, they can use that money to try and find a way to create a sustainable and renewable source of energy.

I guess it just makes me mad that the monarchy (no matter who they are) decides that they can do what they want and spend the money they want without being accountable to anyone. If they really want to show that they are worthy of their position then maybe they should lead by example and forgo such pleasures and focus more on building a better world.

I mean really, even PEZ collectables in the form of the Prince William and Kate – such a waste of money….

Leave a Reply

